Breaking news FEATURES

Lebanese Najat Aoun Saliba, among winners of “For Women in Science” International Award 

Written by FDM

The international scientific community joined together with eminent figures celebrated yesterday, five outstanding women scientists, at the 21st L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Ceremony in Paris.

For Women in Science winners are revealed. Coming from all over the world, they were rewarded for the excellence of their research in the fields of material science, mathematics, and computer science.

Inaugurated by Audrey Azoulay, Director-General of UNESCO, and Jean-Paul Agon, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer of L’Oréal and Chairman of the L’Oréal Foundation, the Ceremony also recognized 15 talented young women scientists from across the world, selected among the programme’s 280 national and regional fellows.


15 talented young women selected from national and regional fellows

Each of these five outstanding women, through their exceptional careers, has been saluted by Artur Avila, President of the 2019 Jury, Professor at Institute of Mathematics University of Zurich, Switzerland, and 2014 Fields Medal.


  • Professor Najat Aoun SALIBA – Analytical and atmospheric chemistry (Africa and the Arab States). Professor Saliba is rewarded for her pioneering work in identifying carcinogenic agents and other toxic air pollutants in the in Middle East, and in modern nicotine delivery systems, such as cigarettes and hookahs.
  • Professor Maki KAWAI – Chemistry / Catalysis (Asia-Pacific). Professor Maki Kawai is recognised for her groundbreaking work in manipulating molecules at the atomic level, in order to transform materials and create innovative materials.
  • Professor Karen HALLBERG – Physics/ Condensed matter physics (Latin America). Professor Karen Hallberg is rewarded for developing cutting-edge computational approaches that allow scientists to understand the physics of quantum matter.
  • Professor Ingrid DAUBECHIES – Mathematics / Mathematical physics (North America). Professor Daubechies is recognised for her exceptional contribution to the numerical treatment of images and signal processing, providing standard and flexible algorithms for data compression.
  • Professor Claire VOISIN – Mathematics / Algebraic geometry (Europe). Professor Voisin is rewarded for her outstanding work in algebraic geometry.